I left home long ago
in pursuit of my dreams
I found them in this place
where I now live

This place has seen me grow
nurtured me through
broken hearts and a mind
that refuses to believe

that I can be broken
For, every time I fell
I got up stronger
more ready to give

Though, only time will tell
if I really am home

*Week 5 Bref Double for our 2017 Poetic Resolution.

**Bref double is a French poetic form consisting of 3 quatrains and a final couplet, making 14 lines. The rules are:
4 stanzas: 3 quatrains (or 4-line stanzas) and 1 couplet (or 2-line stanza)
3 rhymes: an A rhyme, B rhyme, and C rhyme
The A and B rhymes appear twice in the first 3 stanzas and once each in the couplet
The C rhyme is the final line in each of the quatrains
Each poem has a variable line length, but the lines should be consistent within each poem

 

