When I see him smile
A light enters through me
I laugh hard at my dark
I will set myself free

I have bad days of no calm
Underneath this wordly mask
But I remind myself it’s all good
When I see him smile

I think of life and its irony
How fate plays games
I feel like giving up, just then
A light enters through me

And then, there’s such clarity
I can see though all obstacles
I chide myself for losing hope
I laugh hard at my dark

I’m but a prisoner of my mind
no more, I’ll hide within my bosom
Fasten the buckles of my heart
I will set free myself

*Week 7 Cascade for our 2017 Poetic Resolution. Cascade is all about receptiveness, but in a smooth cascading way like a waterfall. The poem does not have any rhyme scheme; therefore, the layout is simple. Say the first verse has three lines. Line one of verse one becomes the last line of verse two. To follow in suit, the second line of verse one becomes the last line of verse three. The third line of verse one now becomes the last line of verse four, the last stanza of the poem. See the structure example below:

a/b/c/d, e/f/g/A, h/i/j/B, k/l/m/C, n/o/p/D

 

