I went all around
Asking people who often smile
How patience can be found
Impatient with their sermons all the while

I read books after books
That spoke of creating balance
Easier read than done, my poor
extreme mind devoid of any semblance

I ruminated for months
On all that I had been told
Only when I coaxed my mind
I realized self-awareness is gold

It started with baby steps
I began to change the way I live
Getting enough sleep was one
My tired brain began to breathe

Making peace with my emotions was next
Learning not to carry my heart on my sleeve
Thoughts keep colliding with feelings still
But I’m finally managing to filter and seive

I’m a happier person now
Learning to breeze through stormy seas
Only because my extremities are under control
The pies and my fingers both at peace!

