Conspicuous by my absence was I
I waited patiently testing myself
All these days that the wretched clock dragged by!

Little pranks leading to indecent lies
A lot of chaos, Onyx were my eyes!

A twist in the tale unseen by the eye
Unfolded slow like deep hidden layers
Conspicuous by my absence was I!

I must have painted the night sky with tears
Only the beleaguered moon heard my sighs!

My heart kept racing and I didn’t know why
I felt I was being watched every second
All these days that the wretched clock dragged by!

Oh what a conundrum it truly was
How long before the forced veil would arise?

The sun would lower, chances would get high
That the unseen would be visible, yet
Conspicuous by my absence was I!

That night, the silver moonstreak melted slow
When morning came, amber became my eyes!

At long last, the conundrum was to die
I kept mum, breathed deep and long after
All these days that the wretched clock dragged by!

The sun glowed, wind blew hard making doubts fly
“I knew it”, my heart shouted a murmur
Said there’d better be a good alibi
All these days that the wretched clock dragged by!

*Week 17 Gra Reformata of our 2017 Poetic Resolution. The Grá Reformata is based upon the Villanelle form. Following the basic setting of the Villanelle, the Grá Reformata has an extra couplet between each tercet. This couplet can be either rhymed within the structure of the rest of the poem, or in free verse, but always in iambic pentameter.

Format:

a-b-a
x-x
a-b-a
x-x
a-b-a
x-x
a-b-a
x-x
a-b-a
a-b-a-a

The x consists of the rhymed, or unrhymed iambic couplet.

