Intro: I have a deep fear of dementia. The following is about the same. I wrote this a little while ago and it has been set into music by my SO who also happens to be a composer/musician. Someday I might publish the song version 😊

If I forget how I used to look
Would you paint me a picture I can keep
Use all the love in you when you do
So I can see how my eyes shone so deep

If I can’t recall my name anymore
Will you write love on me patiently
Help me utter the syllables each time
I respond to your love as you call me

If I have trouble remembering me
I’ll count on you to be my clarity
If I wander far away from the shore
Will you be my beacon to guide me home

If I can’t remember why I love you
Would you narrate to me our story
My shot in the dark that had lit us up
How you had found home in my poetry

If I have trouble remembering me
I’ll count on you to be my clarity
If I wander far away from the shore
Will you be my beacon to guide me home

